The Indian flag sports three colors, saffron at the top, white in the middle and green in the bottom. The official explanation for the colors is as follows: saffron symbolizes courage, the white stands for truth and the green for prosperity and faith. The blue wheel in the middle of the white band has 24 spokes and was adopted from the “Wheel of Dharma” at the base of the lions atop the Ashoka Pillar at Sarnath. Thus, while honoring Emperor Ashoka, this symbol with profound meaning speaks volumes for the ideals of the New India.